Projects updates!- part 1.

So I thought I’d share a bit of an update on where I am with the various projects and general gamer mayhem at the moment. November to January is a really hectic time for me and it’s been tricky to get hobby time in but here’s where we are:-

40k – The Astra Militarum Desert force.

This is a labour of love for me and whilst it’s not going to win any awards, I’ve loved getting this force up together. All the purchasing is done and we are getting there on the assembly and painting. Today it looks like this:-

This is the Tempestus Scion (storm troopers) element of the force, which will be the main part of it.

The storm troopers are GW with a mix of heads from Max mini and puppet’s war. I also did some leg and power weapon swap outs with parts from Kromlech.

I particularly like the vox casters shouting into hand sets. Currently this is running at 3 squads of 6 and a command squad.

They are complemented by some converted Taurox’s as their runarounds. The boxy track units swapped out for wheels kits .

They’ve also been festooned with stowage and bits box parts to help them look more lived in.

I’ve also nearly finished my Avenger Strike fighter, just a little more weathering, some wing tips and undercarriage work to go but tabletop ready

I actually took my inspiration here from a WW2 tropical ME109 and I like the parallel

My fave detail was adding the kill markings using the transfers kit.

What’s left to do?

Well, I’ve a Lord Commisar kit bash to paint:-

He’s mostly Van Saar with a cape and hat combo. I was keen for him to look a bit older and grizzled next to my standard Commisar. He will fill an important HQ slot vacancy for getting the formations minimums met, unlocking those sweet CPs and hopefully will look cool doing it.

Now I’m always keen to put someone off charging my HQ choice and I really dig the Ogryn bodyguard fluff, so I bought a box.

They are on the bench at the moment and as you get 3 in the box and the bodyguard had a ripper gun, I built the others as the rest of the ripper gun squad. Just so I can have either the guard with my HQ or a full squad. I’m going to get a 2nd box at some point for those CC Bullgryns build.

There is also a Valkyrie in box to build that I have the upgrade to Vendetta for that will be added to this element of the force.

The other part of this force is a Tallaran recon element. This is essentially a HQ Command squad (more Max mini desert dwellers) mounted in a Chimera (that I’m hoping to convert to the Gryphon pattern).

And fast attack choices. I have 3 Tauros buggies in various stages of construction:-

And I was super lucky to get a Sentinel Walker for Xmas (thanks Phil) so will have some great scouting/fast attack options here and the Tallaran special rule will be awesome here.

What I am hoping for is a really fun, 1940k desert war themed force that will be my main 40k army for a long time to come.

I’ve out of typing time but in part 2 we’ll talk gang fighting, Battlegroup, terrain, board games, Hellboy and Dropzone and all sorts.

Keep rolling!

Carl

One comment

  1. Models this good make me wish Imperial Guard had better stats! I didn’t realise the army was so large. Those converted Tauroxes look very good. The new wheels and the stowage hugely improves them. Keep up the good work!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment